More Art For Downtown Art Walk

The last time I updated this blog, I was with the Zzyzx Writerz invading downtown L.A.’s Last Bookstore with poetry, music and all around love.

Collection of Loose Change: an artist here forming a floor title with pennies.
Collection of Loose Change: an artist here forming floor tiles with pennies.

What I didn’t mention in the post was the other show I went to check out with Levi, a fellow Zzyzx Writer member, where he showed me what a couple of torn comic pages – yes, torn comic books pages – can do to re-decorate the walls of a bookstore. And what a bunch of collected pennies can do to transform a floor into a modern wonder.

The art room exhibits, located on the second floor at The Last Bookstore, blew my mind. It’s fascinating to see almost every day objects transformed into an art work which helps extend its intentional purpose.

An active overstock shelve should never be avoided.
An active overstock shelf should never be kept in a corner.

Most of the exhibits, the ones I’ve seen at the time, are just starting to make a potential debut into the public eye, I’m confident to say that by the time it is ready they will make a strong case to catch the observer’s attention.

Don’t take my word for it. Go out and see and explore it for yourself; next Art Walk at downtown L.A. is on Valentine’s Day. Maybe it’ll be love on first sight all over again. Or it could be a simple crush that may potentially lead to something…. more?

Next week’s post: Thursday, Feb. 14 (Lovely day… or perhaps not?) Take a chance, and step up to the plate, as we will go to a little corner of East L.A. and visit a library where I didn’t know existed until I showed up.

Leave a Reply

