Recycle, Re-Do, Re-Use, Recycle

I have something to confess to you this week, dear reader. I’m guilty of and perhaps the worst person I know when it comes to procrastination. Yes, I admit it (now that it’s out of my system and now in your mind, and speaking of mind, you’re probably wondering what does this have anything to do with this week’s blog post; I promise I’ll get to the point).

A customer sorting out her recyclable mediums.
A customer sorting out her recyclable mediums at the Latino Recycling Center.

After seeing my collection of plastic bottles, aluminum cans, milk cartons, and glass bottles accumulate over the past weeks or so (they’re not all mine, I swear), I told myself that I’ll recycle them. I finally did, the other day, decided to put that idea or specifically the idea to initiate the action of recycling and sent the items to the local recycling center in the community.

The place where I took my recyclables that day is called the Latino Recycling Center (don’t ask how or why one would name their center or a business after a racial or ethnic group; they simply did it to reflect the majority population in the community or to show the friendliness to the population or both). The place is well organized with a private parking lot where guest can pull up their car or cart into the area and grab a single or a few or a dozen basket(s) to sort out one’s plastics, glasses, or aluminum cans from other recyclable types. In addition to the self help baskets, there is a helper who will assist one on site.

The Latino Recycling Center helper assisting a customer with his recyclables.
The Latino Recycling Center helper assisting a customer with his recyclables.

On that day, the helper had on a black overall and a baseball cap. Although he doesn’t speak English fluidly, he does understand what his customer needs and will do what he can to assist one with their recyclables and its process.

On the day I was there, the man came up to me, took my basket, and emptied it into another one, making sure all the recyclable mediums were the same ones. Then he set the baskets on the scale and called out each mediums and its weight to the person sitting behind the window counter. The person then adds up the numbers, hands over the clipboard with the information on it and ask me to confirm it. After a simple gesture of confirmation, my recyclable junk turns into a generous return of rewards. It’s that simple.

Yes, this place does exist (and you can go there too to see for yourself!)

The Latino Recycling Center is ready to take in your recyclables today!
The Latino Recycling Center is ready to take in your recyclables today!

Location: 2329 Daly St.; L.A. 90031 (right across the street from the 99 Cents store, right in between the Burger jolt and the laundry place; it has a flag screaming: RECYCLE and a sign shouting: RECYCLING CENTER; can’t miss it!

Operation Hours: Mon. – Sat. 7am – 4pm; Sun. 7am – 3pm

So take the opportunity now to turn that junk into cash today!

Next Post Up: Thur., Sept. 19th

Leave a Reply

