Walking the Streets of L.A.

City Hall of AngelsYes, as odd and funny as it may sound, I do walk the streets when I can avoid being stuck in a cube or inside a car. It gives me an opportunity to see the city and/or community with another set of eyes which one doesn’t always see from being inside a car.

For example, when one’s walking the street one may stumble upon a store or a place where it offers something one may not have notice when one’s zooming by and through a street. However, when one’s walking one is actually taking the time to notice the surrounding. While I was in Chinatown, I noticed that all the older buildings were being mixed into with the newer buildings (which are mostly lofts and apartments). And I noticed that Chinatown is starting to feel a little more crowded (in terms of increasing additional buildings to a now limited spaced Chinatown).

Merging Old and New: Building in the foreground are business and the background are apartments.
Merging Old and New: Building in the foreground are business and the background are apartments.

And I decided to take a photo of the merging of the new and the old together. However, the taking of the photo isn’t the main interest. But it was the reaction or reactive impression I got from the locals that caught my attention. As I took the photo, I noticed some people around me shook their heads or made a low mumble sound underneath their breathe; perhaps they showed their disapproval for my interest (or whatnot) I have to presume they didn’t approve of my admiration towards the subject (which doesn’t make any sense since I’m merely taking a photo).

Take a ride on the Gold Line to escape traffic.
Take a ride on the Gold Line to escape traffic.

It helps to take a break from driving in a city where history is constantly shifting underneath one’s foot as well as all around one’s area and allow one to take as much in as possible.

Next Post Up: Thur., Sept. 26

One thought on “Walking the Streets of L.A.”

Leave a Reply

