Tour de Lincoln Heights

An experience running in an urban neighborhood.

The ball of my feet bounce off the hard pavement as I take each step forward.

The smell of burned fuel released into the atmosphere from nearby cars are distinctly noticeable.

And the sounds of buzzing engines, spinning wheels, and squeaking  brakes are more audible than the foot steps of people roaming about on the streets – yes, this is the experience of street running in Lincoln Heights, Los Angeles.

Looking at Lincoln Heights old prison from a distance.
Looking at Lincoln Heights old prison and industrial trucks from a distance.

The running condition may not be ideal, however, the experience of running in an urban setting trains my body, mind, and spirit to become aware of the immediate surroundings and its activities.

Running under these conditions, I have become aware of the different settings of each parts in the neighborhood. Some parts will be more hazardous with evidences of unpaved, cracked, uneven  sidewalks or they are simply littered with too much junk making it difficult to run or walk on.  On the other hand, there are other parts in the neighborhood that accommodates the runner with more favorable conditions because of limited cars passing by, better paved sidewalks, and less obstacles.

The routes I take varies from day to day.  Some days I start from Avenue 21 make my way round Pasadena Avenue, make the turn round San Fernando Road, and make another turn round Humboldt Street.

One of the handful of local churches in the neighborhood.
  One of the handful of local churches in the neighborhood.

Other days, I will take a run round Avenues 23, 25 and 26. Then there are days where I will change my scenery and run round the landmarks of Lincoln Heights library, the postal office, and Lincoln High School.

I have yet to come up with nick names for each of these routes; however, they are not important at the moment since the basic goal of my run is to simply reach a mile and beyond every day.

And to ensure I reach my goal, I bring a little friend of mine, my cellphone which has an application that tracks my progress of every step I take on the hard concrete street that continues to challenge me to do my best.

Next Featured Post: Thursday, June 18th

Join us every Wednesday as we will start filling a new page entitled ‘Wednesday’s Minor Activity’ devoted to Project Run where we will upload pictures of landmarks, landscapes, and experiences in our run in the communities of Los Angeles and nearby cities in Southern California.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

